028 9045 1070

About Us

About St.Matthews Housing Association

Established as a community organisation in 1977, St Matthew’s Housing Association has been transforming housing and bringing much needed social homes to Belfast for over 40 years.

We have helped clients obtain affordable properties for renting not just in our main area of Short Strand but also in Poleglass and Clonard.

The association provides a responsive and effective approach to meeting tenant needs and is staffed by a team of four full time and one part time housing professionals who – between them – hold more than 75 years’ experience.

A 9-person Board of Management is responsible for the strategic direction of the association’s operations. Most of whom live in or are from the communities which St Matthew’s was established to serve and hold a clear view of the challenges facing local neighbourhoods.

Good business planning by the Chief Executive and Board has delivered over £2m of investment to improve existing homes and over the last 8 years we have added 50 new additional homes for rent.

The association takes pride in the fact that all its homes meet government’s Decent Home Standard, but is continuing to invest for the future. We have Surveyed all our housing stock as part of the planning for the next five-year maintenance programme and ensuring standards of repair remain high and more people benefit from modern facilities.

The Board of St Matthew’s Housing Association is also reviewing a number of options to develop new social homes in the Short Strand area along with partner housing associations including APEX. This would be an important achievement in an area where waiting lists remain unacceptably high. More than just a landlord, St Matthew’s Housing Association continues to be an important part of the communities it serves.

Board of Management

Mr P Devlin – Chairperson (from June 2021)

Mr F Woods – Treasurer (from June 2021)

Mr P Donnelly

Ms L Fegan

Mr K Craig

Mr J O’Donnell

Mr C Devenny

Mr P Ó’Ruanaí

Our Staff

Mr Jim Black BSC Hons FCIH – Chief Executive & Honorary Secretary

Mrs Sandra Convery Wright BSc Hons Dip IS – Housing Officer

Mrs Sarah Jane Murray BA Hons ATI – Finance Officer

Mr Kieran Donnelly BSc Hons – Maintenance Officer

Mrs Deirdre Conlon – P/T Caretaker/Cleaner

Mr Andrew Curran BSc (Hons) – Maintenance Officer

Scroll to Top